Groundwater Research Advisory Council Members

Home / About Us / Groundwater Research Advisory Council Members

As established by Wisconsin’s Groundwater Law of 1984, the state provides funding annually to the UW System to support groundwater research and monitoring. In 1989, WRI became the UW System’s lead institution for coordinating the proposal solicitation and review processes for prioritizing UWS groundwater project funding from the annual Joint Solicitation for Wisconsin Groundwater Research and Monitoring Program competition. WRI’s priorities for groundwater research are established annually by the Wisconsin Groundwater Research Advisory Council (GRAC) made up of representatives from academia, federal and state agencies, and the private sector. The GRAC convenes annually to set priorities and to review and make recommendations to WRI on the selection of UW System-funded groundwater projects.

University of Wisconsin System Groundwater Research Advisory Council
2021-22

Gretchen Bohnhoff
Civil & Environmental Engineering
University of Wisconsin-Platteville
138 Ottensman Hall, 1 University Plaza
Platteville, WI 53818
608/342-1541
bohnhoffg@uwplatt.edu
 
Lori G. Bowman
Agricultural Management Bureau, Agricultural Resource Management Division
Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
2811 Agriculture Drive
Madison, WI 53718
608/224-4550
lori.bowman@wisconsin.gov
 
Jennifer Brand
College of Natural Resources
University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point
800 Reserve St., Room 224C
Stevens Point, WI 54481
715/346-3190
jenbrand@uwsp.edu
 
Kenneth Bradbury
Wisconsin Geological & Natural History Survey
University of Wisconsin-Extension
3817 Mineral Point Road
Madison, WI 53705
608/263-7921
krbradbu@facstaff.wisc.edu
 
James Drought
GZA GeoEnvironmental, Inc.
Global Water Center
247 W Freshwater Way, Suite 542
Milwaukee, WI 53204
414/831-2540
james.drought@gza.com
 
Steve Gaffield
Emmons & Olivier Resources, Inc.
119 S. Main St.
Cottage Grove, WI 53527
608/839-6213
sgaffield@eorinc.com
 

Timothy Grundl
Department of Geosciences
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
P.O. Box 413, Lapham Hall 366
3209 N. Maryland Ave.
Milwaukee, WI 53211
414/229-4765
grundl@uwm.edu

James P. Hurley (Ex-officio)
Water Resources Institute
1975 Willow Dr., Goodnight Hall, 2nd Floor
Madison, WI 53706-1177
608/262-0905
hurley@aqua.wisc.edu
 
Andrew Jacque
Water Quality Investigations
216 ½ W. Main Street
Mount Horeb, WI 53572
608/341-0470
ajacque@wqinvestigations.com
 
David Krabbenhoft (Chair)
U.S. Geological Survey
8505 Research Way
Middleton, WI 53562
608/821-3843
dpkrabbe@usgs.gov

Jonathan Meiman

Department of Health Services
1 W. Wilson Street, Room 150
Madison, WI 53703
608/266-1253
jonathan.meiman@wi.gov

Bruce Rheineck (Ex-officio)
Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
GEF 2, DG/5
101 S. Webster Street
Madison, WI 53703
608/266-2104
BruceD.Rheineck@wisconsin.gov
 

Anita Thompson
Department of Biological Systems
Engineering
University of Wisconsin-Madison
460 Henry Mall
Madison, WI 53706
608/234-8855
amthompson2@wisc.edu

Matthew Winden
College of Business and Economics
University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
Timothy J Hyland 4302D
809 W. Starin Road
Whitewater, WI 53190
262/472-5579
windenm@uww.edu

Eric Strauss
Department of Biology
University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
1725 State Street
2033 Cowley Hall
La Crosse, WI 54601
608/785-8262
Strauss.eric@uwlax.edu

James Zellmer
Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
101 S. Webster Street
Madison, WI 53703
608/267-7651
James.Zellmer@wisconsin.gov