Groundwater Research Advisory Council Members

Home / About Us / Groundwater Research Advisory Council Members

As established by Wisconsin’s Groundwater Law of 1984, the state provides funding annually to the UW System to support groundwater research and monitoring. In 1989, WRI became the UW System’s lead institution for coordinating the proposal solicitation and review processes for prioritizing UWS groundwater project funding from the annual Joint Solicitation for Wisconsin Groundwater Research and Monitoring Program competition. WRI’s priorities for groundwater research are established annually by the Wisconsin Groundwater Research Advisory Council (GRAC) made up of representatives from academia, federal and state agencies, and the private sector. The GRAC convenes annually to set priorities and to review and make recommendations to WRI on the selection of UW System-funded groundwater projects.

University of Wisconsin System Groundwater Research Advisory Council

Gretchen Bohnhoff
Civil & Environmental Engineering
University of Wisconsin-Platteville
138 Ottensman Hall, 1 University Plaza
Platteville, WI 53818

Susan Swanson
Wisconsin Geological & Natural History Survey
University of Wisconsin-Madison, Division of Extension
3817 Mineral Point Rd.
Madison, WI 53705

James Drought
GZA GeoEnvironmental, Inc.
Global Water Center
247 W Freshwater Way, Suite 542
Milwaukee, WI 53204

Steve Gaffield
Emmons & Olivier Resources, Inc
119 S. Main St.
Cottage Grove, WI 53527

Timothy Grundl
Department of Geosciences
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
P.O. Box 413, Lapham Hall 366
3209 N. Maryland Ave.
Milwaukee, WI 53211

James P. Hurley
Water Resources Institute
1975 Willow Dr., Goodnight Hall, 2nd Floor
Madison, WI 53706-1177

Andrew Jacque
Water Quality Investigations
216 ½ W. Main Street
Mount Horeb, WI 53572

David Krabbenhoft
U.S. Geological Survey
8505 Research Way
Middleton, WI 53562

Mark McColloch
Environmental Quality Unit Supervisor
Division of Agricultural Resource Management
Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
2811 Agriculture Drive
Madison, WI 53718

Sheryl Bedno
Department of Health Services
1 W. Wilson Street, Room 150
Madison, WI 53703

Steve Elmore
Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
GEF 2, DG/5
101 S. Webster Street
Madison, WI 53703

Eric Strauss
Department of Biology
University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
1725 State Street
2033 Cowley Hall
La Crosse, WI  54601


Anita Thompson
Departments of Biological Systems Engineering
University of Wisconsin-Madison
460 Henry Mall
Madison, WI 53706


Matthew Winden
College of Business and Economics
University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
Hyland Hall 4302D, 809 W. Starin Road
Whitewater, WI 53190


James Zellmer
Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
101 S. Webster Street
Madison, WI 53703